PREGNANCY

Individual health counseling and nutritorial advice

If you want to learn more about check-ups, click on one of the topics below.

Medical care for normal and high-risk pregnancies

Medical care for normal and high-risk pregnancies

We place a large emphasis on comprehensive care and advice during the entire pregnancy. In addition to medical care we can offer you cooperation with experts of other fields.

The examinations during pregnancy are performed according to the maternity regulations. In addition, we provide you with further reasonable examinations which are currently not part of these regulations.

  • Blood sugar stress test
  • Blood test for HIV, toxoplasmosis, cytomegaly and listeriosis
  • First trimester screening to assess the individual risk of genetic diseases
  • ultrasound scans pursuant to maternity regulations
  • ultrasound scan of breasts during pregnancy

The maternity check-ups are performed every four weeks, then – as of the 30th week of pregnancy – every three weeks and then – as of the 36th week – every two weeks.

As of the calculated delivery date, check-ups are performed every two days. In order to ensure proper documentation of the examination results, so-called maternity notes are taken as of the 8th and 12th week of pregnancy. You should always take them with you and bring them to each appointment in our practice.

Moreover, we recommend cancer screening at 6-month intervals during pregnancy (paid for by the statutory health insurance).

In case of high-risk pregnancies, the entire range of prenatal diagnosis can be offered (please click to choose). This involves:

  • malformation screening
  • chorionic villus sampling
  • amniocentesis
  • umbilical blood sampling
  • nuchal scan
  • Doppler sonography
  • human genetic counselling

Malformation screening

Malformation screening

Ultrasonic examinations between the 19th and 22nd week of pregnancy can detect many developmental disorders, among them a number of foetal malformations and diseases. The criteria of the assessment are, for example, the face, head, spine, abdominal wall, extremities and individual foetal organs. An ultrasonic examination with normal results confirms with high probability a normal development of the foetal organ; however, it can never exclude disorders in the foetal development with certainty.

Even when the examination is carried out with high-quality devices and utmost care by an experienced doctor, it cannot be expected that all malformations and modifications can be detected at any time during pregnancy because some anomalies only develop during the course of pregnancy. The assessment of the unborn child may be difficult due to unfavourable examination conditions, e.g. low level of amniotic fluid, unfavourable position of the child, too early or too late in pregnancy, strong maternal abdominal wall, scars. Thus, a residual risk at a percent level for developmental disorders still remains.

If a malformation is diagnosed, we can offer you cooperation with experts in the respective field (e.g. paediatricians, paediatric cardiologists, human geneticists, psychologists).


fig.: normal four-chamber view of the foetal heart in the 20th week of pregnancy

Chorionic villus sampling

Chorionic villus sampling

Chorionic villus sampling (CVS) is the earliest possible examination in invasive diagnostics. As the nuchal fold scan, it is usually performed between the 11th and 14th week of pregnancy. For example amniocentesis is usually not yet possible at such an early stage. This is the reason why CVS is recommended when an early or fast diagnosis is required, e.g. in the following cases:

  • in case of abnormal ultrasound scan results in the first trimester of pregnancy
  • if diseases which can be detected with invasive diagnostics are known in the family history
  • if the mother wishes to have a diagnosis as early as possible, e.g. in case of advanced maternal age
  • if early screening indicates an increased risk

The foetal cells obtained from the placenta will be cultivated in a culture. Since the chorionic villi contain a large amount of cells in the cell division stage (only in this phase, chromosomes can be seen under a light microscope), a sample of the tissue is cultivated for about 24 hours and then processed for microscopic examination.

This ensures that chromosomes can be examined immediately and first results are available within 1-2 days (short-term results). In most cases such findings are already diagnostically conclusive. However, fine structural anomalies or the so-called mosaicism (the simultaneous presence of healthy and sick cells in one organism) cannot be recognised or excluded with certainty.

Long-term cultivation which is available after about one week will then reveal results with the highest possible informative value.

Since in chorionic villus sampling no amniotic fluid can be extracted for measuring the alpha-1-fetoprotein (AFP)in order to detect any open neural tube defects in the vertebrae or the skull, an AFP screening should be performed from the mother’s blood in the 16th – 18th week of pregnancy and/or an ultrasound scan should be made in the 20th -22nd week in order to exclude such defects as far as possible.

CVS procedure

You will first have an extensive talk with your doctor, who will inform you about the performance, significance, limitations and risks of the intended examination.

After an extensive ultrasound scan of the unborn child, the position of the placenta and the form of the uterus are assessed. Then the doctor determines the best puncture site which will usually be within the area displayed on the picture below.

Then, after thorough disinfection of the abdominal wall twice and under continuous ultrasound guidance, a very thin needle will be inserted through your abdominal wall and into the placenta and the chorionic villi will be extracted into a syringe with a culture medium. The sample is then immediately checked to confirm that a sufficient amount has been extracted.

The puncture itself usually takes only about 20 seconds. The pain caused by the procedure (usually just a discomforting pinching in the abdominal area which women often compare to menstrual pain) is very little so that local anaesthesia is not necessary.

Behaviour after the puncture

After the puncture you should rest and lie down at home for the rest of the day; and for the following three days you should also stay at home and take it easy.

Examination of amniotic fluid

Examination of amniotic fluid (amniocentesis)

Hardly any other examination in the field of prenatal screening has been distorted as much by exaggerations, half-truths and self-proclaimed experts as the examination of amniotic fluid (amniocentesis). On the internet, you can often find complication rates of 2% to 4%. Many expectant parents believe that one of the greatest risks of amniocentesis is the risk of injury to the foetus with the needle. However, objective and sound information on amniocentesis can answer many questions and also dispel the expectant parents’ fears.

Of course, no presentation on the internet whatsoever can ever replace a personal consultation, e.g. consultation within human genetic counselling.

Amniocentesis is usually performed between the 14th and the 19th week of pregnancy in order to detect chromosomal abnormalities. Foetal cells in the amniotic fluid are withdrawn and cultivated in a culture. After approx. 8 – 12 days, the chromosome set of the unborn child can usually be determined.

The chromosomal analysis is aimed at detecting chromosomal defects in terms of the number of chromosomes (the best-known defect is the Down syndrome = trisomy 21, previously known as mongolism) and structural chromosomal alterations visible under a light microscope. However, finer structural alterations can usually not be detected; further examinations with special markers will only be performed in case of suspected defects.

Moreover, the level of alpha-1-fetoprotein (AFP) in the amniotic fluid is measured to identify any neural tube defects of the spine (spina bifida = “split spine”) or the abdominal wall.

In special cases or upon request, an additional rapid test (FISH) can be offered to definitely rule out the three most common chromosomal defects after 24 hours already.

Amniocentesis may also be necessary for a diagnosis in case of other diseases (e.g. infections, inherited metabolic diseases, hereditary diseases known in the family history, blood type incompatibility).

A normal set of chromosomes does not exclude many malformations and diseases of the unborn child, e.g. heart defects, limb defects, facial clefts as well as many mental disabilities, because these are not linked to recognisable chromosomal abnormalities. Most of these diseases may, however, be recognised in a high-resolution ultrasound scan (the best time for such scan is between the 20th and 22nd week of pregnancy).

Procedure:

You will first have an extensive talk with your doctor, who will inform you about the performance, significance, limitations and risks of the intended examination.

After an extensive ultrasound scan of the unborn child, the position of the child and the size and expansion of the amniotic sac are assessed. Then the doctor determines the best puncture site which will usually be within the area displayed on the picture below.

Then, after thorough disinfection (three times) of the abdominal wall and under continuous ultrasound guidance, a very thin hollow needle will be inserted through your abdominal wall and into the amniotic sac in a way that excludes any injury to the foetus. A small amount of amniotic fluid (approx. 10-15 ml, less than a tenth of the total amount) will be extracted with the needle. This procedure usually takes about 20 seconds. The discomfort caused by amniocentesis can be compared to that of taking blood samples or intramuscular injections. Local anaesthesia is not necessary. The amniotic sac will have replenished the liquid within a few hours.

Behaviour after the puncture

After the puncture you should rest and lie down at home for the rest of the day; and for the following three days you should also stay at home and take it easy.

Indications to amniocentesis or chorionic villus sampling

Indications for amniocentesis or chorionic villous sampling

  • familial risk (e.g. a child with Down syndrome in the family)
  • mother aged 35 and older
  • chromosomal defect or other syndrome in a previous pregnancy
  • mother’s fear
  • mother’s wish

“Age indication” (mother aged 35 and older) means that a woman’s individual risk of giving birth to a child with a chromosomal defect increases in line with the mother’s age. The most common defect is the Down syndrome with an additional chromosome 21. The following table shows the relation between the risk and the maternal age.

maternal age Down syndrome risk
20 1 out of 1530
25 1 out of 1350
30 1 out of 900
32 1 out of 660
34 1 out of 450
35 1 out of 360
36 1 out of 280
38 1 out of 170
40 1 out of 100
42 1 out of 55
44 1 out of 30

When the mother is around 35 years old, her individual risk to have a child with Down syndrome is higher than the risk posed by performing an amniocentesis (risk approx. 1:300 – 1:400). This is the reason why, in the past, a clear distinction was made between “over 35” and “under 35”.

Nowadays, however, this approach has been abandoned in favour of an individual interpretation. More and more often, the indication for an invasive testing is given when, after extensive counselling, the patient deems such testing reasonable for her individual situation.

Complications and limitations

An amniotic fluid leakage (rupture of the amniotic sac) occurs in about one out of 200 punctures. In about half of all cases, the leak closes itself naturally and the lost fluid regenerates itself so that the pregnancy continues as normal. In the other half of all cases, i.e. in one out of 300-400 amniotic punctures (0.2-0.3%), miscarriage or premature delivery due to a rupture of the amniotic sac, preterm labour or bleeding occurs. Maternal risks such as infections and bleeding are, however, very low.

Foetal blood sampling from the umbilical cord

Umbilical Cord Blood Sampling (Cordocentesis)

An umbilical cord puncture provides a means of rapid analysis with regard to haemoglobin, blood type, antibodies, infectious parameters of the child and, if needed, a karyogram (genetic analysis).

The procedure is similar to that of amniocentesis. A needle is inserted through your abdominal wall and into the amnion into the umbilical cord in order to extract foetal blood. The foetal umbilical vein is specifically selected for the puncture.

In addition to the above findings, testing the foetal blood can also exclude a range of infections. In case of blood deficiency a blood transfusion can be given. The most common indications for an umbilical cord puncture are suspected foetal blood deficiency due to rhesus incompatibility or infections.

Umbilical cord blood sampling makes the same genetic testing of the child possible as it is done in amniocentesis. An umbilical cord puncture can be performed in the 18th week of pregnancy at the earliest.

Nuchal screening

Nuchal scan

Nuchal translucency measurement is carried out by an ultrasonic scan of the fluid behind the neck of the foetus known as the nuchal fold. The scan is carried out between the 11th and 14th week of pregnancy. Foetuses with trisomy 21 (Down syndrome) tend to have a larger nuchal fold. A normal nuchal fold does, however, not prove that there is definitely no Down syndrome!

Measuring the nuchal translucency can detect whether or not your child is likely to suffer from a genetic disease such as trisomy 21 or trisomy 18. The scan can only estimate the risk for trisomy 21.

This measurement is combined with blood sampling (PAPP-A and ß-HCG). This increases accuracy up to 94%.

An accurate statement on trisomy 21 can only be given by e.g. chorionic villus sampling (CVS) or an examination of amniotic fluid (amniocentesis). This means that even after the nuchal scan it is not 100% clear whether or not your baby suffers from trisomy 21. However, this scan can help you to decide whether you want to have another diagnostic test later, e.g.an examination of the amniotic fluid.

After the 14th week of pregnancy, the lymphatic fluid is reduced in all babies. This examination will not carry any increased risk to you or your child.

3D/4D images and videos of your child on photo, CD, DVD or USB stick

3D/4D images and videos of your child on photo, CD, DVD or USB stick

Genetic counselling and analyses

Genetic counselling and analyses

In human genetic counselling, we cooperate with several experts.

About 3-4% of all children are born with a genetic disease, deformity or disability. The standard example of genetic counselling is the case when persons within your family have a certain deformity or possibly a genetic disease or when you already have a child with a hereditary disease and want to know how high the risk is to have another child who is affected. Genetic counselling will inform you about the risk of falling ill with the disease, the course of the disease and diagnostic options. Genetic counselling will help you make your individual decision in a specific situation, also with regard to family planning. The consultation session usually takes between 30 minutes and one hour.

What are hereditary diseases?

There are over 7000 hereditary diseases known and approx. 1000 of them can be detected via genetic diagnosis. This number will be even higher in future.

The reason of a hereditary disorder lies in a modification of the genetic material (the DNA). Such modification may affect individual genes (gene mutations) or entire chromosomes (chromosomal disorders). A hereditary disease is likely if several members of one family in the same or different generations have fallen ill with the same disorder. Hereditary diseases can also occur for the first time due to a sudden modification of the genetic material (spontaneous mutation).

Genetic counselling is advisable in the following cases:

  • if the mother or the father is of a higher age
  • prior to invasive diagnostics (amniocentesis, chorionic villus sampling, foetal blood sampling)
  • following medication or exposure to radiation during pregnancy
  • in case of repeated miscarriages
  • in case of consanguineous marriages
  • in case of suspicious ultrasonic results
  • in case of suspicious screening test results (early screening, triple test)
  • in case of certain maternal diseases (e.g. epilepsy)
  • if a hereditary disease is suspected in a family member, in order to assess the risk of repetition
  • in case of general questions concerning prenatal diagnosis
  • if artificial insemination is planned

The costs of human genetic counselling are borne by the statutory and private health insurances. Members of the statutory health insurance need a referral from their doctor.

Counselling may also reveal that e.g. a blood test of your partner is necessary.

In-patient and out-patient births at the gynaecological hospital

Obstetrics, surgical and
conservative in-patient treatment

Surgery and obstetrics
are performed upon appointment:
Gynaecological Hospital Dr. Geisenhofer
near the English Garden
Hirschauer Str. 6
80538 Munich
Phone: (089) 38 31-0
Fax: (089) 38 31-263

diakoniewerk

Diakoniewerk
München-Maxvorstadt
Hessstr. 22
80799 Munich
Phone: (089) 21 22-0
Fax: (089) 21 22-256

surgical spectrum:

  • diagnostic and interventional laparoscopy
  • sterility testing (chromopertubation)
  • diagnostic hysteroscopy and hysteroscopic surgery
  • laparotomy
  • hysterectomy (abdominal, in some cases vaginal)
  • incontinence surgery
  • curettages, dilatation and curettage abortion
  • conization
  • breast surgery together with the breast centre of the hospital Dr. Geißenhofer in Munich

In order to discuss and plan surgery which is to be carried out by us, please make an appointment in our practice first.

SCHWANGERSCHAFT

Fehlbildungsdiagnostik, Fruchtwasseruntersuchung, Nackelfaltenmessung und mehr

Um näheres zum Thema Schwangerschaft zu erfahren, klicken Sie auf eines der gelisteten Themen.

Betreuung von Schwangerschaften und Risikoschwangerschaften

Betreuung von Schwangerschaften und Risikoschwangerschaften

Wir legen großen Wert auf eine umfassende Betreuung und Beratung in der gesamten Zeit der Schwangerschaft. Über die fachärztliche Betreuung hinaus, bieten wir Ihnen gegebenenfalls eine Zusammenarbeit mit Spezialisten anderer Fachbereiche.

Die Untersuchungen in der Schwangerschaft werden nach den Mutterschaftsrichtlinien durchgeführt. Zusätzlich informieren wir Sie natürlich über weitere sinnvolle Untersuchungen, die zur Zeit nicht Bestandteil dieser Richtlinien sind:

  • Blutzuckerbelastungstest
  • Blutuntersuchung auf HIV, Toxoplasmose, Cytomegalie und Listeriose
  • Ersttrimesterscreening zur Abschätzung des individuellen Risikos für genetische Erkrankungen
  • Ultraschalluntersuchungen nach Mutterschaftsrichtlinien
  • Ultraschall der Brust in der Schwangerschaft

Die Mutterschaftsvorsorgeuntersuchungen finden zunächst alle vier, ab der 30. Schwangerschaftswoche (SSW) alle drei Wochen und ab der 36. SSW alle 2 Wochen statt.

Ab dem errechneten Entbindungstermin sind alle 2 Tage Untersuchungen vorgesehen. Zur Dokumentation der Untersuchungsergebnisse wird zwischen der 8. und 12. SSW der so genannte Mutterpass angelegt. Diesen Pass sollten Sie immer bei sich tragen und zu jeder Untersuchung in unserer Praxis mitbringen.

Zudem empfehlen wir in der Schwangerschaft einen Krebsvorsorgeabstrich in 6 monatigen Abstand (Kassenleistung).

Bei Risikoschwangerschaften kann das gesamte Spektrum der Präntaldiagnostik angeboten werden (bitte anklicken). Hierzu zählen:

  • Fehlbildungsdiagnostik
  • Chorionzottenbiopsie
  • Fruchtwasseruntersuchung
  • Nabelschnurblutentnahme
  • Nackenfaltenmessung
  • Dopplersonographie
  • Humangenetische Beratung

Spezielle Pränataldiagnostik mit Ultraschall und Doppler

Inhalt fehlt

Fehlbildungsdiagnostik

Fehlbildungsdiagnostik

Mit der Ultraschalluntersuchung in der 19.-22. SSW können viele Entwicklungsstörungen, darunter auch eine Vielzahl von kindlichen Fehlbildungen und Erkrankungen erkannt werden. Beurteilt werden z.B. das Gesicht, der Kopf, die Wirbelsäule, die Bauchwand, die Extremitäten sowie einzelne kindliche Organe. Eine unauffällige Ultraschalluntersuchung bestätigt mit einer hohen Wahrscheinlichkeit eine normale Entwicklung der kindlichen Organe, schließt jedoch eine kindliche Entwicklungsstörung niemals mit Sicherheit aus.

Auch bei guter Gerätequalität, größter Sorgfalt und Erfahrung des Untersuchers kann nicht erwartet werden, dass zu jedem Zeitpunkt der Schwangerschaft alle Fehlbildungen und Veränderungen erkannt werden können, da sich manche Anomalien auch erst im Schwangerschaftsverlauf manifestieren. Die Beurteilbarkeit des ungeborenen Kindes kann durch ungünstige Untersuchungsbedingungen erschwert sein, z.B. infolge verminderter Fruchtwassermenge, ungünstiger Kindlage, zu früher oder zu später Schwangerschaftswoche, kräftiger mütterlicher Bauchdecken, Narben. Dementsprechend bleibt ein Restrisiko im Prozentbereich für das Vorliegen von Entwicklungsstörungen bestehen.

Wird eine Fehlbildung diagnostiziert, bieten wir Ihnen eine Korporation mit Spezialisten (z.B. Kinderarzt, Kinderkardiologe, Humangenetiker, Psychologe) an.

ultraschall32_2

Chorionzottenbiopsie

Chorionzottenbiopsie

Die Chorionzottenbiopsie (häufig auch der Abkürzung des englischen Begriffes chorionic villous sampling = „CVS“ genannt) ist die früheste Möglichkeit der invasiven Diagnostik. Sie wird normalerweise wie die Nackenfaltenmessung zwischen der 11. und 14. Schwangerschaftswoche durchgeführt. Zu dieser Zeit ist z.B. eine Fruchtwasseruntersuchung in aller Regel noch nicht möglich. Daher wird die CVS immer dann empfohlen, wenn eine frühe oder schnelle Diagnostik erfolgen soll, zum Beispiel bei:

  • auffälligem Ultraschallbefund im ersten Drittel der Schwangerschaft
  • bekannten familiären Erkrankungen, die mit der invasiven Diagnostik erkannt werden können
  • dem Wunsch der Mutter nach einer frühest möglichen Diagnostik z.B. bei Altersindikation
  • erhöhtem Risiko im Frühscreening

Die aus dem Mutterkuchen (Plazenta) gewonnenen kindlichen Zellen werden in einer Kultur angezüchtet. Da die Chorionzotten eine große Anzahl an Zellen in der Teilungsphase enthalten (nur in dieser Phase sind die Chromosomen im Lichtmikroskop erkennbar) wird ein Teil des Gewebes ca. 24 Stunden kultiviert und anschließend zur mikroskopischen Untersuchung aufgearbeitet.

Dadurch können die Chromosomen sofort untersucht werden, so dass ein erster Befund bereits nach 1-2 Tagen vorliegt (Kurzzeitbefund). Dieser Befund ist in den meisten Fällen bereits aussagekräftig. Feine Strukturanomalien oder sog. Mosaike (gleichzeitiges Vorhandensein von gesunden und kranken Zellen in einem Organismus) können jedoch noch nicht sicher erkannt oder ausgeschlossen werden.

Hierzu dient die nach ca. einer Woche vorliegende Langzeitkultur, die dann die größtmögliche Aussagekraft bietet.

Da bei der Chorionzottenbiopsie kein Fruchtwasser zur Bestimmung des Alpha-Feto-Proteins (AFP) zum Nachweis von offenen Spaltbildungen der Wirbelsäule und des Schädels entnommen werden kann, sollte in der 16. bis 18. Schwangerschaftswoche eine AFP-Bestimmung aus dem Blut der Mutter und/ oder eine Ultraschalluntersuchung in der 20.- 22. Schwangerschaftswoche erfolgen, um derartige Defekte weitestgehend auszuschließen.

Ablauf einer Chorionzottenbiopsie

Zunächst werden Sie im Rahmen eines Beratungsgespräches ausführlich über die Durchführung, Aussagekraft, Grenzen und Risiken der geplanten Untersuchung aufgeklärt.

Nach einer ausführlichen Ultraschalluntersuchung des ungeborenen Kindes wird die Lage des Mutterkuchens und die Form der Gebärmutter beurteilt. Danach wird die günstigste Einstichstelle festgelegt, die in aller Regel innerhalb der im Bild dargestellten Region liegt:

chorionzottenbiopsie

Dann wird nach gründlicher zweimaliger Desinfektion der Bauchdecke unter ständiger Ultraschallkontrolle eine sehr dünne Nadel durch die Bauchdecke in den Mutterkuchen vorgeschoben und die Chorionzotten in eine Spritze mit Nährmedium gezogen. Anschließend wird die Probe sofort kontrolliert, um das Vorliegen einer ausreichenden Menge zu bestätigen.

Der Einstich an sich dauert in der Regel lediglich ca. 20 Sekunden. Die mit dem Eingriff verbundenen Schmerzen (in aller Regel lediglich ein unangenehmes Ziehen im Bauch, welches von Frauen oft mit Regelschmerzen verglichen wird) sind so gering, dass eine örtliche Betäubung nicht erforderlich ist.

Verhalten nach der Punktion

Nach der Punktion sollten Sie sich den restlichen Tag zuhause hinlegen und möglichst auch drei Folgetage häusliche Schonung einhalten.

Fruchtwasseruntersuchung

Fruchtwasseruntersuchung (Amniozentese)

Wohl kaum eine Untersuchung im Bereich der vorgeburtlichen Diagnostik ist so von übertreibungen, Halbwahrheiten und selbsternannten Fachleuten verzerrt worden wie die Fruchtwasseruntersuchung (Amniozentese). Auch bei der Suche im Internet trifft man immer wieder auf Komplikationsraten von 2% bis 4%. Viele werdende Eltern glauben, dass das Risiko einer Verletzung des Kindes durch die Nadel eines der größten Risiken der Fruchtwasseruntersuchung darstellt. Mit einer sachlichen und fundierten Information über die Amniozentese können aber viele Fragen und sicherlich auch ängste der werdenden Eltern abgebaut werden.

Allerdings gilt auch hier, dass jede Darstellung im Internet niemals ein persönliches Beratungsgespräch z.B. im Rahmen einer humangenetischen Beratung ersetzen kann.

üblicherweise wird die Fruchtwasserentnahme zwischen der 14. und 19. Schwangerschaftswoche durchgeführt, um Störungen der Chromosomen zu erkennen. Hierzu werden die im Fruchtwasser schwimmenden kindlichen Zellen entnommen und in einer Kultur angezüchtet. Nach ca. 8 – 12 Tagen kann dann in der Regel der Chromosomensatz des ungeborenen Kindes ermittelt werden.

Bei der Chromosomenanalyse wird zum einen auf zahlenmäßige Chromosomenstörungen (die bekannteste ist hierbei das Down-Syndrom = Trisomie 21, früher auch Mongolismus genannt) geachtet sowie auf im Lichtmikroskop erkennbare Veränderungen der Chromosomenstruktur. Feinere strukturelle Fehler sind dagegen in der Regel nicht zu erkennen und werden nur bei Verdacht mit speziellen Markern untersucht.

Weiterhin wird im Fruchtwasser die Konzentration des Alpha-Feto-Proteins (AFP) gemessen, wodurch Hinweise auf das Vorliegen von Spaltbildungen im Bereich der Wirbelsäule (Spina bifida = „offener Rücken“) oder der Bauchwand gewonnen werden können.

In besonderen Fällen oder auf Wunsch kann ein zusätzlicher Schnelltest (FISH) angeboten werden, der die drei häufigsten Chromosomenstörungen bereits nach 24 Stunden sehr sicher ausschließen kann.

Eine Fruchtwasseruntersuchung kann auch zur Diagnostik bei anderen Erkrankungen (z.B. Infektionen, vererbbare Stoffwechselstörungen, in der Familie bekannte Erbkrankheiten, Blutgruppenunverträglichkeit) erforderlich sein.

Ein normaler Chromosomensatz schließt viele Fehlbildungen und Erkrankungen des Ungeborenen, z.B. Herzfehler, Extremitätenfehlbildungen, Spaltbildungen im Gesicht sowie viele geistige Behinderungen nicht aus, da diese oft nicht mit erkennbaren Abweichungen im Chromosomensatz verbunden sind. Die Mehrzahl dieser Erkrankungen können aber durch eine hochauflösende Ultraschalluntersuchung (optimaler Zeitpunkt 20.-22. Schwangerschaftswoche) erkannt werden.

Ablauf:

Zunächst werden Sie im Rahmen eines Beratungsgespräches ausführlich über die Durchführung, Aussagekraft, Grenzen und Risiken der geplanten Untersuchung aufgeklärt.

Nach einer ausführlichen Ultraschalluntersuchung des ungeborenen Kindes wird die Lage des Kindes und die Größe und Ausdehnung der Fruchtblase beurteilt. Danach wird die günstigste Einstichstelle festgelegt, die in aller Regel innerhalb der im Bild dargestellten Region liegt:

fruchtwasseruntersuchung

Dann wird nach gründlicher dreimaliger Desinfektion der Bauchdecke unter ständiger Ultraschallkontrolle eine sehr dünne Nadel durch die Bauchdecke so in die Fruchthöhle eingeführt, dass eine Verletzung des Feten ausgeschlossen werden kann. Ein geringer Teil des Fruchtwassers (ca. 10-15 ml, weniger als ein Zehntel der Gesamtmenge) wird mit einer Spritze entnommen. Dieser Vorgang dauert in der Regel nur ca. 20 Sekunden. Die mit dem Eingriff verbundenen Beschwerden entsprechen etwa denen einer Blutabnahme oder einer intramuskulären Injektion. Eine örtliche Betäubung ist nicht erforderlich. Innerhalb einiger Stunden hat sich das Fruchtwasser wieder nachgebildet.

Verhalten nach der Punktion

Nach der Punktion sollten sie sich den restlichen Tag zuhause hinlegen und möglichst auch drei Folgetage häusliche Schonung einhalten.

Indikationen zur Fruchtwasseruntersuchung oder Choriozottenbiopsie

Indikationen zur Fruchtwasseruntersuchung oder Choriozottenbiopsie

  • familiäres Risiko (z.B. ein Kind mit Down-Syndrom in der Familie)
  • Alter über 35 Jahre
  • Chromosomenstörung oder anderes Syndrom in vorangegangener Schwangerschaft
  • mütterliche Angst
  • Wunsch der Mutter

Die „Altersindikation“ (Alter der Mutter über 35 Jahre) bedeutet, dass das individuelle Risiko einer Frau, ein Kind mit einer Chromosomenstörung zur Welt zu bringen, mit dem mütterlichen Alter ansteigt. Die häufigste Störung ist das Down-Syndrom mit einem zusätzlichen Chromosom 21. Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die Abhängigkeit des Risikos vom Alter der Mutter.

Mütterliches Alter Risiko für Down-Syndrom
20 1 von 1530
25 1 von 1350
30 1 von 900
32 1 von 660
34 1 von 450
35 1 von 360
36 1 von 280
38 1 von 170
40 1 von 100
42 1 von 55
44 1 von 30

Ab dem ca. 35. Lebensjahr ist das individuelle Risiko, ein Kind mit Down-Syndrom zu bekommen, höher als das Eingriffsrisiko einer Fruchtwasseruntersuchung (Risiko ca. 1:300 – 1:400). Daher wurde in der Vergangenheit recht deutlich zwischen „über 35“ und „unter 35“ unterschieden.

fruchtwasser

Heute jedoch ist dieser Grundsatz zugunsten einer individuellen Auslegung verlassen worden. Immer mehr wird dazu übergegangen, dann eine Indikation für eine invasive Diagnostik zu stellen, wenn die Patientin es nach ausführlicher Beratung für sich selbst als sinnvoll ansieht.

Komplikationen und Einschränkungen

Ein Fruchtwasserabgang (Blasensprung) tritt nach ca. einer von 200 Punktionen auf. In ca. der Hälfte der Fälle schließt sich das Leck von alleine und die verloren gegangene Fruchtwassermenge regeneriert sich wieder, so dass die weitere Schwangerschaft normal verläuft. In der anderen Hälfte der Fälle d.h. bei einer von 300-400 Fruchtwasserpunktionen (0,2-0,3%) ist mit einer Fehl- oder Frühgeburt infolge eines Blasensprunges, Wehentätigkeit oder Blutungen zu rechnen. Gefahren für die Mutter wie Infektionen und Blutungen sind dagegen extrem selten.

Nabelschnurblutentnahme

Nabelschnurblutentnahme (Chordozentese)

Die Nabelschnurpunktion ermöglicht eine schnelle Diagosestellung in Bezug auf den Hämoglobin, Blutgruppe, Antikörper Infektionsparameter des Kindes und ggf. eines Karyogramm (genetische Analyse).

Hierbei wird, wie bei einer Fruchtwasseruntersuchung mit einer Nadel durch die Bauchdecke in die Fruchthöhle, und weiter in die Nabelschnur eingegangen, um kindliches Blut zu entnehmen. Es wird gezielt die Nabelschnurvene des Feten anpunktiert.

Darüberhinaus kann aus dem fetalen Blut eine weite Palette an Infektionen, ausgeschlossen werden. Bei Vorliegen eines Blutmangels kann eine Bluttransfusionen durchgeführt werden. Die häufigsten Indikationen zur Nabelschnurpunktion sind der Verdacht auf eine kindliche Blutarmut durch Rhesus-Inkompatibilität oder Infektionen.

Eine genetische Untersuchung des Kindes ist wie bei einer Fruchtwasseruntersuchung auch hierbei möglich. Eine Nabelschnurpunktion kann ab der 18. Schwangerschaftswoche durchgeführt werden.

Nackenfaltenmessung

Nackenfaltenmessung

Bei der Nackentransparenzmessung wird per Ultraschall eine Flüssigkeit unter der Nackenhaut des ungeborenen Kindes gemessen – und zwar zwischen der 11. und 14. Woche der Schwangerschaft. Die Nackenfalte bei Babys mit Trisomie 21 (Down-Syndrom) zeigt sich häufig größer. Eine normale Nackenfalte belegt nicht zwangsweise, dass kein Down Syndrom vorliegt!

Die Nackentransparenzmessung kann aber Hinweise geben, ob Ihr Kind möglicherweise an einer genetischen Erkrankung wie Trisomie 21 oder Trisomie 18 leidet. Dieser Screening Test kann nur schätzen, wie hoch das Risiko für Trisomie 21 ist.

Kombiniert wird diese Messung mit der Blutabnahme (PAPP-A und ß-HCG). Damit kann die Trefferwahrscheinlichkeit bis zu 94 % erhöht werden.

Eine genaue Aussage zur Trisomie 21 kann aber nur zum Beispiel die Chorionzottenbiopsie (CVS) oder die Fruchtwasseruntersuchung (Amniozentese) liefern.Man weiß also auch nach der Nackentransparenzmessung nicht hundertprozentig, ob Ihr Baby an Trisomie 21 leiden wird oder nicht. Aber diese Methode kann Ihnen bei der Entscheidung helfen, ob Sie später noch einen zusätzlichen diagnostischen Test wie z.B. eine Fruchtwasseruntersuchung machen sollen.

Nach der 14.SSW bildet sich die Lymphflüssigkeit bei allen Babys wieder zurück. Diese Untersuchung hat weder für Ihr Kind noch für Sie ein erhöhtes Risiko.

ultraschall11
ultraschall1

3D/4D Aufnahmen und Filme Ihres Kindes als Foto, auf CD, DVD oder USB-Stick

3D/4D Aufnahmen und Filme Ihres Kindes
als Foto, auf CD, DVD oder USB-Stick

Genetische Beratung und Analysen

Genetische Beratung und Analysen

Die humangenetische Beratung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Fachkollegen durchgeführt.

Etwa 3-4% aller Kinder werden mit einer genetisch bedingten Krankheit, einer Fehlbildung oder einer Behinderung geboren. Ein klassischer Fall für eine genetische Beratung wäre zum Beispiel, wenn es in Ihrer Familie Personen mit einer bestimmten Fehlbildung oder einer möglicherweise erblich bedingten Erkrankung gibt; oder Sie haben bereits ein Kind mit einer bestimmten angeborenen Erkrankung und möchten jetzt wissen, wie groß das Risiko ist, dass Sie ein weiteres betroffenes Kind zur Welt bringen. Durch die Beratung werden Sie über Erkrankungsrisiken und -verläufe sowie über diagnostische Möglichkeiten informiert. Es wird ihnen geholfen, eine individuelle Entscheidung in einer konkreten Situation treffen zu können u. a. auch im Hinblick auf die Familienplanung. Das Beratungsgespräch dauert in der Regel zwischen einer halben und einer Stunde.

Was sind Erbkrankheiten?

Derzeit sind über 7000 genetisch bedingte Erkrankungen bekannt, von denen ca.1000 durch eine genetische Diagnostik erkannt werden können. Diese Zahl wird in der Zukunft noch höher liegen.

Die Ursache einer erblich bedingten Störung liegt in der Veränderung des Erbgutes (der DNA). Dies kann einzelne Gene treffen (Genmutation) oder ganze Chromosomen (Chromosomenstörung). Der Hinweis auf eine Erbkrankheit ergibt sich, wenn mehrere Mitglieder einer Familie in derselben oder unterschiedlichen Generationen an der gleichen Störung erkrankt sind. Daneben können Erbkrankheiten aber auch erstmals durch plötzliche Veränderung des Erbgutes (Spontanmutation).

Eine genetische Beratung ist in folgenden Situationen empfehlenswert:

  • bei erhöhtem mütterlichen oder väterlichen Alter
  • vor invasiver Diagnostik (Fruchtwasseruntersuchung, Chorionzottenbiopsie, Fetalblutentnahme)
  • nach Medikamenteneinnahme oder Strahlenbelastung während der Schwangerschaft
  • bei wiederholten Fehlgeburten
  • bei Verwandtenehen
  • bei Auffälligkeiten im Ultraschall
  • bei auffälligen Suchtests (Frühscreening, Triple-Test)
  • bei bestimmten mütterlichen Erkrankungen (z.B. Epilepsie)
  • bei Verdacht auf eine genetische Erkrankung bei einem Familienmitglied zur Klärung des Wiederholungsrisikos
  • wenn allgemeine Fragen zur vorgeburtlichen Diagnostik bestehen
  • wenn eine künstliche Befruchtung geplant ist

Die Kosten der humangenetischen Beratung werden von den gesetzlichen Krankenkassen und den privaten Krankenversicherungen übernommen. Mitglieder der gesetzlichen Krankenkassen müssen eine überweisung mitbringen.

Bei der Beratung kann sich auch die Notwendigkeit z.B. einer Blutuntersuchung des Partners ergeben.

Stationäre und ambulante Geburten

Frauenklinik Dr. Geisenhofer
am Englischen Garten
Hirschauerstraße 6
80538 München
Telefon: 089 / 38 31-0
www.geisenhoferklinik.de