ULTRASONOGRAPHY

Screening and duplex ultrasonography

If you want to learn more about check-ups, click on one of the topics below.

1st screening: 9th-12th week of pregnancy (integrity of pregnancy, single / multiple pregnancy, anomalies)

Nuchal scan

Nuchal translucency measurement is carried out by an ultrasonic scan of the fluid behind the neck of the foetus known as the nuchal fold. The scan is carried out between the 11th and 14th week of pregnancy. Foetuses with trisomy 21 (Down syndrome) tend to have a larger nuchal fold. A normal nuchal fold does, however, not prove that there is definitely no Down syndrome!

Measuring the nuchal translucency can detect whether or not your child is likely to suffer from a genetic disease such as trisomy 21 or trisomy 18. The scan can only estimate the risk for trisomy 21.

This measurement is combined with blood sampling (PAPP-A and ß-HCG). This increases accuracy up to 94%.

An accurate statement on trisomy 21 can only be given by e.g. chorionic villus sampling (CVS) or an examination of amniotic fluid (amniocentesis). This means that even after the nuchal scan it is not 100% clear whether or not your baby suffers from trisomy 21. However, this scan can help you to decide whether you want to have another diagnostic test later, e.g.an examination of the amniotic fluid.

After the 14th week of pregnancy, the lymphatic fluid is reduced in all babies. This examination will not carry any increased risk to you or your child.

2nd screening: 19th-22nd week of pregnancy (exclusion of foetal malformation / foetal organ screening)

Malformation screening

Ultrasonic examinations between the 19th and 22nd week of pregnancy can detect many developmental disorders, among them a number of foetal malformations and diseases. The criteria of the assessment are, for example, the face, head, spine, abdominal wall, extremities and individual foetal organs. An ultrasonic examination with normal results confirms with high probability a normal development of the foetal organ; however, it can never exclude disorders in the foetal development with certainty.

Even when the examination is carried out with high-quality devices and utmost care by an experienced doctor, it cannot be expected that all malformations and modifications can be detected at any time during pregnancy because some anomalies only develop during the course of pregnancy. The assessment of the unborn child may be difficult due to unfavourable examination conditions, e.g. low level of amniotic fluid, unfavourable position of the child, too early or too late in pregnancy, strong maternal abdominal wall, scars. Thus, a residual risk at a percent level for developmental disorders still remains.

If a malformation is diagnosed, we can offer you cooperation with experts in the respective field (e.g. paediatricians, paediatric cardiologists, human geneticists, psychologists).


fig.: normal four-chamber view of the foetal heart in the 20th week of pregnancy

3rd screening: 29th-32nd week of pregnancy (growth, position, estimation of foetal weight, evaluation of foetal heart)

3rd screening: 29th-32nd week of pregnancy (growth, position, estimation of foetal weight, evaluation of foetal heart)

Doppler ultrasonography examination of maternal / foetal vessels depending on indication

Doppler sonography

Doppler sonography measures the blood flow velocity within the maternal and foetal vessels. The blood flows in different foetal vessels (umbilical cord, cerebral arteries), in the uterine arteries or in the foetal heart are displayed in different colours and measured in flow curves. This helps to detect anomalies in the foetus’s circulation. Indirect hints are given as to whether the child is provided with sufficient nutrients and oxygen. Assessing the blood flow pattern in the uterine arteries can help to detect and monitor an increased risk of insufficient supply of nutrients to the foetus (placental insufficiency) or pre-eclampsia (pregnancy-induced hypertension with proteinuria) between the 20th and 24th week of pregnancy already.

The most common reasons for using Doppler sonography are the following:

  • within focussed ultrasound scans in case of suspected foetal malformations, developmental and chromosomal disorders
  • blood flow diagnostics in case the baby is too small in view of the gestational age
  • hypertensive diseases during pregnancy, other maternal diseases

foetal echocardiography (ultrasonography of the foetal heart) to exclude cardiac defects

Foetal echocardiography

In Germany, about 6000 children with heart defects are born each year. One in 100 newborns suffers from a type of heart anomaly, which is one of the most common malformations.
The aim of foetal echocardiography is to detect heart defects or cardiac arrhythmia in foetuses.

This examination is recommended in case of the following risk factors:

  • familial predisposition on the part of the mother or children already born with a congenital heart defect
  • previous maternal diseases, such as diabetes mellitus, lupus erythematosus, epilepsy, etc.
  • high doses of ionising radiation

During foetal echocardiography, the ventricles, atria, cardiac septum and all afferent and efferent vessels are examined. The ideal point in time for such examination is between the 20th and 26th week of pregnancy. In case of existing risk factors, it can already be performed in the 13th week of pregnancy.


fig.: normal four-chamber view of the foetal heart in the 20th week of pregnancy

3D/4D ultrasound three-dimensional image of your child

3D/4D images and videos of your child
as photo, on CD, DVD or USB stick

BILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILDBILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILD BILDBILD BILD BILD

ULTRASCHALLDIAGNOSTIK

Um näheres zum Thema genetische/invasive Diagnostik zu erfahren, klicken Sie auf eines der gelisteten Themen.

1.Screening: 9.-12. SSW (Intaktheit der Schwangerschaft, Einling / Mehrlinge, Auffälligkeiten) Nackenfaltenmessung (11.-14. SSW)

Nackenfaltenmessung

Bei der Nackentransparenzmessung wird per Ultraschall eine Flüssigkeit unter der Nackenhaut des ungeborenen Kindes gemessen – und zwar zwischen der 11. und 14. Woche der Schwangerschaft. Die Nackenfalte bei Babys mit Trisomie 21 (Down-Syndrom) zeigt sich häufig größer. Eine normale Nackenfalte belegt nicht zwangsweise, dass kein Down Syndrom vorliegt!

Die Nackentransparenzmessung kann aber Hinweise geben, ob Ihr Kind möglicherweise an einer genetischen Erkrankung wie Trisomie 21 oder Trisomie 18 leidet. Dieser Screening Test kann nur schätzen, wie hoch das Risiko für Trisomie 21 ist.

Kombiniert wird diese Messung mit der Blutabnahme (PAPP-A und ß-HCG). Damit kann die Trefferwahrscheinlichkeit bis zu 94 % erhöht werden.

Eine genaue Aussage zur Trisomie 21 kann aber nur zum Beispiel die Chorionzottenbiopsie (CVS) oder die Fruchtwasseruntersuchung (Amniozentese) liefern.Man weiß also auch nach der Nackentransparenzmessung nicht hundertprozentig, ob Ihr Baby an Trisomie 21 leiden wird oder nicht. Aber diese Methode kann Ihnen bei der Entscheidung helfen, ob Sie später noch einen zusätzlichen diagnostischen Test wie z.B. eine Fruchtwasseruntersuchung machen sollen.

Nach der 14.SSW bildet sich die Lymphflüssigkeit bei allen Babys wieder zurück. Diese Untersuchung hat weder für Ihr Kind noch für Sie ein erhöhtes Risiko.

ultraschall1

ultraschall11

2.Screening:19.-22. SSW (Fehlbildungsausschluss / Organscreening) gemäß Richtlinien der DEGUM II

Fehlbildungsdiagnostik

Mit der Ultraschalluntersuchung in der 19.-22. SSW können viele Entwicklungsstörungen, darunter auch eine Vielzahl von kindlichen Fehlbildungen und Erkrankungen erkannt werden. Beurteilt werden z.B. das Gesicht, der Kopf, die Wirbelsäule, die Bauchwand, die Extremitäten sowie einzelne kindliche Organe. Eine unauffällige Ultraschalluntersuchung bestätigt mit einer hohen Wahrscheinlichkeit eine normale Entwicklung der kindlichen Organe, schließt jedoch eine kindliche Entwicklungsstörung niemals mit Sicherheit aus.

Auch bei guter Gerätequalität, größter Sorgfalt und Erfahrung des Untersuchers kann nicht erwartet werden, dass zu jedem Zeitpunkt der Schwangerschaft alle Fehlbildungen und Veränderungen erkannt werden können, da sich manche Anomalien auch erst im Schwangerschaftsverlauf manifestieren. Die Beurteilbarkeit des ungeborenen Kindes kann durch ungünstige Untersuchungsbedingungen erschwert sein, z.B. infolge verminderter Fruchtwassermenge, ungünstiger Kindlage, zu früher oder zu später Schwangerschaftswoche, kräftiger mütterlicher Bauchdecken, Narben. Dementsprechend bleibt ein Restrisiko im Prozentbereich für das Vorliegen von Entwicklungsstörungen bestehen.

Wird eine Fehlbildung diagnostiziert, bieten wir Ihnen eine Korporation mit Spezialisten (z.B. Kinderarzt, Kinderkardiologe, Humangenetiker, Psychologe) an.

ultraschall32_2

3.Screening: 29.-32. SSW (Wachstum, Lage, Gewichtsschätzung, Herzbeurteilung)

Inhalt fehlt

Dopplersonographische Untersuchungen an mütterlichen / fetalen Gefäßen nach Indikation

Dopplersonographie

Die Doppler-Sonographie ist eine Methode, bei der die Blutströmungsgeschwindigkeit in mütterlichen oder fetalen Gefäßen gemessen wird. Es werden Blutflüsse in verschiedenen fetalen Gefäßen (Nabelschnur, Hirnarterien), in den Gebärmutterschlagadern oder am fetalen Herzen farbig dargestellt und Flusskurven gemessen. Dadurch können Kreislaufbesonderheiten beim Ungeborenen erkannt werden. Man erhält indirekt Hinweise, ob das Kind in der Gebärmutter ausreichend mit Nährstoffen und Sauerstoff versorgt wird. Durch die Beurteilung der Blutflussmuster in den Gebärmutterarterien kann ein erhöhtes Risiko bezüglich einer Mangelversorgung des Feten (Plazentainsuffizienz) oder einer Präeklampsie (schwangerschaftsbedingter Bluthochdruck und Eiweißausscheidung im Urin) bereits zwischen der 20.-24. SSW erkannt und entsprechend überwacht werden.

Die häufigsten Gründe für die Durchführung dieser Untersuchung sind:

  • Im Rahmen des gezielten Ultraschalls bei Verdacht auf fetale Fehlbildungen, Entwicklungs- und Chromosomenstörungen
  • Durchblutungsdiagnostik bei für das Schwangerschaftsalter zu kleinem Baby
  • Bluthochdruckerkrankungen in der Schwangerschaft, andere mütterliche Erkrankungen

doppler32_6

doppler22

doppler23

fetale Echokardiographie (Ultraschalluntersuchung des fetalen Herzens) zum Ausschluss von Herzfehlern

fetale Echokardiographie

In Deutschland werden jedes Jahr etwa 6000 Kinder mit Herzfehlern geboren. Eines von hundert Neugeborenen leidet unter einer zu den häufigsten Fehlbildungen gehörenden Herzanomalie.
Ziel dieser Untersuchung ist es, bei den Feten Herzfehlbildungen oder Herzrhythmusstörungen zu erkennen.

Empfohlen wird diese Untersuchung bei folgenden Risikofaktoren:

  • Familiäre Belastung durch die Mutter oder bereits geborene Kinder mit einem angeborenen Herzfehler
  • Vorbestehende mütterliche Erkrankungen wie Diabetes mellitus, Lupus erythematodes, Epilepsie etc.
  • Spezielle Substanzen die in der Schwangerschaft eingenommen wurden wie z.B. Antiepileptika, Lithium, Alkohol oder Vitamin A
  • Hohe Dosen ionisierender Strahlen

Während der Untersuchung werden Herzkammern, Herzvorhöfe, Herzscheidewände und alle zuführenden und abführenden Gefäße untersucht. Der beste Zeitraum für die Untersuchung liegt zwischen der 20. und 26. SSW. Möglich ist die Untersuchung bereits ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche bei Vorliegen von Risikofaktoren.

ultraschall32_2

3D/4D Ultraschall dreidimensionale Darstellung von Ihrem Kind

3D/4D Aufnahmen und Filme Ihres Kindes
als Foto, auf CD, DVD oder USB-Stick